1841 to 1869
29 June: Sale of Land Deed between Ngati Whatua and the Crown, including the Whau area.
County of Eden proclaimed, including the Whau.
John Shedden Adam is granted land in the district (Allotment 85). First known settler. Later buys Allotment 13 and much of future New Windsor area in 1844 sales. He leaves for Australia in 1845.
First land sales. Henry Walton buys Allotment 63. Dr Daniel Pollen buys land at the end of Rosebank Peninsula -- starts to create a "country estate".
First New Zealand War. Scare across Auckland regarding possibility of attack by Hine Heke.
Great North Road worked out as a “rapid” route for militia and armament in case of war.
JJ Symonds and Col. Haultain apparently survey the Whau District with view to creating Fencible settlement, but found it unsuitable (however, no corroborating evidence of this survey yet found).
By now, around 5 or 6 settlers in the area, including J Comrie at Allotment 85.
First wooden Whau Bridge. Post collected from the bridge by boat to take to Auckland.
System of “Hundreds” – County of Eden spilt into 6 administrative parts.
By this time, Rosebank Peninsula the site for "night soil" deposits, and grazing by sheep and cattle.
Borough of Auckland (short-lived).
Auckland Provincial Council created.
First bridge over Oakley Creek: formation of the Whau Highway (New North Road). Development of Mount Albert begins.
Daniel Pollen, land buyer of part of Rosebank Peninsula in 1845, buys more land across "the lane" from his estate and starts a brickyard -- the first in West Auckland. Lasts for around 25 years. Bricks from Pollen's yard go into building of the Lunatic Asylum (1863).
First explorations into a canal linking Waitemata and Manukau Harbours via the Whau Creek.
Monthly Presbyterian services at the home of Mr J Comrie, the Whau.
Auction of “waste lands” in the Whau district. Frees up land for settlement. Future settlements at "Whau North" (Avondale) and "Whau South" (Blockhouse Bay) surveyed and mapped out.
Work starts on building Whau Presbyterian Church.
Dr. Aickin builds his home on Rosebank Peninsula around this time.
Suggestions made to construct canal along the Whau River and portage to the Manukau. Land speculations increase.
By this time, other brickyards were appearing on the banks of the Whau Creek. First true post office, according to some sources, at corner of Prince's St (Elm) and Brown St (Rosebank) makes appearance.
Petitions to the Provincial Council regarding the line of the main roads to the Whau.
Whau Presbyterian Church first service.
Mr W Young’s regular coach service, Auckland to Henderson’s Mill, via the Whau.
John Bollard arrives to live in the Whau.
Whau School Committee formed. John Bollard starts his 54 year membership of this committee. The School is held in the Presbyterian Church until 1867.
Thomas' Star Mills begins on the Oakley Creek. Later bought out by Garrett Brothers.
Rosebank Cemetery gifted to the Anglican Diocese by Dr. Thomas Aickin -- first burial 3 August 1862 (William, Dr. Aickin's son).
First Whau Hotel flourishes from early 1860s to c.1870. The Whau Store now opposite the Whau Hotel "on the town side".
Sale of “Greytown” development, Allotment 64, central Whau Township, by Thomas Russell. Michael Wood buys most of the lots.
James Wright comes to work at Pollen's brickyard. He later leaves, and sets up his own.
Varnish factories begin to appear on Rosebank.
Provincial government decide on forming final route for Great North Road, making the section through Arch Hill passable for settlements further west.
Property speculator Michael Wood puts on the market his widely-spread holdings, including "Waterview", "Greytown" and "East Whau" (Blockhouse Bay).These are not finally desposed of until David Nathan sells them for Wood in 1866.
Benjamin Gittos and Sons Tannery starts operations near corner of Manukau Road (Blockhouse Bay Rd) and New North Rd.
Presbyterian parish of Titirangi splits from Onehunga. Base now at the Whau.
Turnpike Act, for Provincial Government to collect tax on vehicles to fund road maintenance.
Mt Albert Highways District formed (includes the Whau). Declared in October.
Whau Minstrels form.
27 March: First meeting, in John Bollard’s home, of Whau Public Hall Committee.
13 November: Whau Public Hall opens. Whau School classes in Public Hall 1867-1882
Whau Highways District formed. First Whau Public Library in the Hall. Closes in December.
Late 1860s Depression hits Auckland. The Whau loses population.
Whau Educational District established.
New North Road extended down Blake Street, Blake Street renamed New North Road (until 1899, when it reverted to Blake Street).
Back to ... Next